Barneville-Carteret, Wednesday, September 23

Unfortunately I was not feeling well when I woke up from a bad night. I skipped breakfast and the optional morning walk to the estuary. Upon realizing that I still felt off, I sadly passed on that day’s walk to La Hague (meaning “high cape” in French). This day was also one where we were going to have a picnic on the cliffs. Alas, I retired to my room with a book and fell asleep for about 5 hours. I awoke feeling much better and walked on the beach. Several lovely little (and not so little) beach homes.

I would gladly love in this lovely little cabin on the beach! Notice the little ceramic bird on the roof.

I would gladly love in this lovely little cabin on the beach! Notice the little ceramic bird on the roof.

Interesting

Interesting “castle” on the beach.

The Chateau de Chimay (the castle) was build by Clara Ward, an American who became Princess of Chimay (wherever that is). It is now an apartment house.  In the next photo I tried, rather unsuccessfully to show the “concrete” electric poles used in France. I forgot to take a photo of all the stop signs in Normandy that all say STOP, not arretez.

2015-09-23 18.12.25

This evening we ate at our hotel.  We were given a spread of local delicacies. I tried to be judicial in what I chose. The local seafood was particularly yummy.

The next day was the hike in the Bay of Mont St Michel. Because the bay has one of the highest tides in the world (up to 50 feet between low and high tide) the walk was highly dependent on the timing of the tides so we had to get up and be ready to go by 7:00 am (most days we left at around 9).

Leave a Reply

